Thursday, 12 January 2012


Everyone knows Cancerians aren’t superstitious, so Friday 13th of Jan is as an auspicious a day as any to proudly and fearlessly release our latest e-omnibus of three unabridged novels in a single download ... and at about 50% less than the ebooks’ combined individual cover prices.

This new BeWrite Books e-omnibus covers the first trio of books in Peter Tomlinson’s acclaimed Petronicus Legacy series. A fourth in the series – The Life of Nistal – will be released later this year.

So if you’re not yet acquainted with Peter or Petronicus, now’s the time.

This unique collection, of appeal to all ages, spans ten generations’ struggle in an unidentified land and at an unspecified time in ancient history when wisdom stands against dark superstition, courage against savage brutality, hope against almost certain defeat. It is a saga of the indomitable human spirit. 

Each book is a stand-alone novel in its own right but, as with all series, far more satisfying if read in sequence. (The individual novels are also available in paperback at all online stores.)

You can plough through the individual title notes below or skip them and simply visit the BeWrite Books store HERE and download a free mini-ebook of the e-omnibus containing book descriptions, reviews, author biography and picture, and free extracts.

These intriguing, informative, entertaining and fun mini-ebook productions that now cover all our titles – an exclusive BeWrite Books’ innovation – are proving more popular than we’d dared hope since they went live on New Year’s Day.

Author Peter Tomlinson
For those who like the details:- Author: Peter Tomlinson. Editor: Neil Marr. Design and technical preparation: Tony Szmuk. Distribution by BeWrite Books. Available from BeWrite Books itself, at all major stores – including Kindle, Barnes & Noble's Nook Store, Apple’s iBookstore, Sony, etc – and many newer, independent ebook retail outlets. Price $9.99.

As always with a new BB release, the first three to email THIS ADDRESS with the correct answer to the following question can claim a free copy in the digital format of their choice: In order, what are the titles of the novels contained in this e-omnibus edition and what is the title of the fourth in the Petronicus Legacy series to be released later in 2012?

Happy weekend, folks. Neil et al at BB


The Stones of Petronicus:

A new-born baby is left naked and exposed to die on a city wall while his father is hanged for petty theft a few feet away amid the cheers and hoots of a crazed mob.

Petronicus, an itinerant healer and man of wisdom, takes the babe to heart and together they begin a quest for knowledge, groping through a maze of magic and madness to find answers in the cruel and mysterious ancient world.

The boy grows to manhood in strange lands where a chosen few risk death in their search for truth, bitterly opposed by ruthless rulers and puppet priests who strive to enslave their subjects in a perpetual Dark Age of superstition and suspicion.

The heart-warming, honest but complex simplicity Petronicus and his adopted son share leave the reader wiser than when he joined them on their remarkable journey.

Not since the Fables of Aesop has a book like this been written. And Tomlinson wraps the sage advices in the tales Petronicus tells in a story as intriguing and exciting as any high-octane thriller – and with characters so real you’ll meet them time and again in your dreams … and your nightmares.


The Time of Kadrik:

Kadrik’s time is a terrible time. The land is ravaged by plague and famine, savaged by desperate, starving renegades, terrorized by the mysterious race of Men Half-Made, and in the grip of crippling superstition.

Here, fatherless Kadrik grows to manhood and to the chilling realisation that he – armed only with ancient stories he has committed to memory and a few shards of strangely marked broken pottery – holds the key to salvation.

In this self-contained sequel to his acclaimed The Stones of Petronicus, Peter Tomlinson sets his second tale in the saga ten lifetimes on when, after a long, dark age of stagnation, the land is in its death throes and Kadrik must break the hold of a powerful but backward brotherhood of scribes to save it.

Tomlinson follows Kadrik, with his insatiable thirst for knowledge, through a troubled young adulthood as precocious apprentice to the wise men of his community to the discovery of jealously guarded secrets ... and on a perilous mission to reveal the hidden truths that are his people’s only slim chance of survival; secrets sealed by the death of his mysterious and legendary ancestor in the mists of tribal memory.

'The Time of Kadrik' is an unforgettable journey of profound wisdom, rare courage and breathtaking adventure from a world class story-teller whose magical pen leaves a memory on each and every page.


The Voyages of Delticos:

They are four – the scribe, the outcast, the stranger and one only half-human. But the storm-lashed little band in its pathetic wooden boat is the last hope of a dying people devastated by plague and famine and ravaged by a desperate army of marauding cutthroats.

Delticos, Kadrik, Bantius and the Man Half-Made battle tyranny and lies, epidemic and dark superstition armed with only raw courage and the wisdom of ages to save a doomed race from extinction.

Peter Tomlinson throws us back into the mists of memory when the earth was young, yet old; simple, yet complex; gentle, yet violent, in a satisfyingly self-contained novel that is also the third of his acclaimed Petronicus Legacy series.

The Voyages of Delticos is the latest in a ten-generation saga in which sages and warriors stand shoulder-to-shoulder in a war against ignorance and savagery to save the ancient world from an eternal dark age.

A book in which not only the story and its characters are memorable, but what they say … The appendix of collected sayings that follows this novel and its predecessors is worthy of Aesop. And that, perhaps, is the real legacy of Petronicus.


No comments:

Post a Comment